Monday, September 20, 2010

Quilt Along Post 4: Top Assembly

We are on the home stretch!

Things to remember:
  • Seam allowances are 1/4" unless stated otherwise
  • Press all seams as you go along
  • Have fun!
You should have 80 blocks ready for assembly but before we head to the machine, we need to decide on block placement.

Using your design wall or floor, lay your blocks out in a 10 by 8 setting.

Step 1: Once you are happy with your layout, begin by piecing your first 8 blocks together - this is row 1.

Step 2: Repeat step 1 until all blocks are pieced. You will have 10 rows with 8 blocks in each row.

Step 3:  Press the rows in alternating directions. For example: row 1 will be pressed to the right, row 2 to the left, row 3 to the right and so on.

Step 4: The rows can now be pieced in sequential order. Attach row 1 to 2, 2 to 3 etc

Step 5: Press these seams to one side or open - whichever you prefer.

My quilt top is pictured below, we would love to see your version. Make sure you upload your photos to the Fat Quarterly flickr group.


Come join us on Twitter again tonight Monday, 20th September. Same deal as last time - use the hashtag #fatq, make sure your account is set to public, and we will hopefully chat with you.

European Berlin – 23:00
UK time 22:00
Australia / Melbourne – 07:00 (next day)
US Eastern – 17:00
US Central -16:00
US Pacific – 14:00

See you next week for tips on backing, binding and quilting!

4 comments:

  1. I managed to piece all my blocks on retreat Saturday, inbetween serving cookies/tea/coffee/lasagne to 22 mad sewists (as in sewing like mad, not angry)! BUT, my problem is that I only have 76 blocks and no more fabric!! boohoo. I will invent alternate plan and get back to you. Thanks for doing this - I now am in LOVE with my Hunky Dory jelly roll quilt and it's not even a quilt yet.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks! Your quilt looks great!

    I have been working on the blocks for 15 minutes a day. A really achievable goal. All the blocks are on my designwall now and I just need to take some pictures and decide which lay-out is the best.

    ReplyDelete
  3. i decided to jump in late, and i'm almost caught up! i finished sewing the second half of my blocks tonight, and tomorrow night i'll press them all. i can't wait to see all of the finished quilts, they're all so different!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I used this quilt along to make my first quilt. Whew! I have enjoyed the process but realize there is alot to learn about seam allowances, measuring and in quilting you better be dead on in your measurments! I too, didn't have 80 blocks so will have to improvise and my blocks are not lining up. Learned some good lessons but will definitely not be giving this quilt to anyone!!

    ReplyDelete